Atanok’s Weblog

2009/06/08

loli.pant.su drops the loli and I bitch about mime types

Filed under: Uncategorized — atanok @ 05:11

Because bbot holds as many trademarks for “making comments into posts” as he does for Abridged Script™

I posted this on good ol’ loli.pant.su, holder of the Guinness Book of Records’ title for “best URL evar”, in the post where they officially announce that the place wasn’t so loli after all.

They decided to drop the loli and just be pant.su because they had begun posting regular stuff and that was confusing users and admins alike.

But where did the .su domain come from anyways?
Oh, that’s right.

Well, after some due whining from its user base, they decided to keep the loved loli.pant.su, and just redirect it to the loli category of the main site.

But enough introduction, here’s my post:

I don’t have much to say about this… I came looking for loli and bookmarked it because I was pretty satisfied with the quantity and selection.

I started coming here more often after the scanlators I followed either stopped releasing or started doing crapfloods of MILF titles… because this remained a safe haven tucked away from the userbase of the ZOMG HORNY UHEG TITS N ASS from the scanlators’ sites, and the AIDS-infected *chans which had their loli boards constantly flooded with either random requests or fugly “daddy” photo-realistic 3D CGI.

The only problem I have with the nonloli content being thrown in, is that it could potentially attract that kind of users, and make this place into the shithole the others have become.
You see, because it’ll attract people who only seek that kind of stuff, and then they’ll infest the rest of the material.
“What is this shit? You disgusting pedophiles!”
“Haha, you know, where I come from theres this thing called BOOBS”
“Why is this here? Please remove this, it’s nothing like the other good ones.”
“Yo whats dis shit, I came here lookin for some nice ASS!”
etc…

In essence, I believe it has the potential to fag up the place a lot, and that’s what concerns me.

On another note, the .dlc files, being the mixture of annoyance and convenience that they are, have been troubling me a bit for the fact that they have no mime-type associated to them, and that kind of makes it hard to tell the browser what to do.

.dlc is a pretty obscure format as of now, so your web server probably treats it as a random binary file and sends application/octet-stream as the type…
Now, I’ve tried looking around for an “official” subtype for .dlc, but I haven’t found any so I’ll just suggest one:

application/prs.pant.su-dlc

based on: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mime_type

prs. because it’s a personally-made type
pant.su it’s for this domain only, after all (for now)
-dlc defines the type of the file (you could add other nonstandard types someday if you need)

Doing this should be extremely simple, and while it adds new functionality, users who don’t want to take advantage of this would be unaffected.

An example of how to do it with Apache:
http://bignosebird.com/apache/a1.shtml

@loli.pant.su

If you’re wondering what the heck is a .dlc, hold your google horses and just follow this link.
It’s simply a bunch of URLs encrypted into place to avoid e-crusaders who scourge the tubes reporting everything not resembling a MILF.

I intended to make firefox launch the annoyingly bloated little program automagically, but I came to the quick (and probably wrong) conclusion that I’m depending on a correct mime type being sent to do it.
But for now, the only way I see is delicious mime.
That, or using Windows and a hackjob some guy must have released.
Which will also add a new toolbar for your convenience.
Probably.

On another note, I’d like to confess that I’ve never run a web server in my life.

Edit: here’ s a picture showing the 4 browsers I tested handling a dlc from pant.su.

Screenshot

Clockwise, from the top-left:
– Opera decided that the mime type was probably a fuckup and, while right, did a fuckup by itself by guessing it as plain text.
– Firefox thinks “not this shit again” and says it’s a “BIN” file, not giving an option to “open with” because the type is (wrongly) used for fucking everything.
– Elinks running on gnome-terminal, showing the header sent for the dlc file. Oh… OH GOD WHAT
– Konqueror is being a pretty cool guy by being the perfect example of a good behavior: don’t guess, don’t discriminate. Also true for elinks.

8 Comments »

  1. The latest version of jDownloader associates .dlc to itself via the (Windows) registry. Without a Windows system I suppose that mime is the only option. I don’t find an automatic association to be usefull anyway as I prefer to have the dlc file saved before it is passed to jDownloader. Even then, each download must be tweaked by hand except in the simple case of just dumping everything into the same folder.

    Comment by UhClem — 2009/06/08 @ 07:39

  2. uh… If I wanted to save the .dlc and /then/ launch JDownloader, then I’d already have everything I needed.
    I’m talking about the “Open With…” option >in the browser< permanently knowing what to do.

    Browsers treat files based on the mime type sent by the server, and pant.su is saying it’s an “application/octet-stream” which translates to “lol i dunno, just download it”.

    If you were to make this change, next time anyone’s browser tries to download a .dlc, it’ll say: “hey, this is a dlc file, what do you want me to do?” (similar to what it does now).

    This time, with a proper mime type being received, the user may choose “open with JDownloader” and make it permanent by clicking the “do this automatically for files like this from now on” checkbox.

    Next time that user clicks on a dlc, it’ll just pop up JDownloader and load it automatically.

    Either that, or keep doing the same.

    Also, this is platform independent, and should have the same behavior in all browsers. No OS-specific trickery such as windows registry involved.

    Now, I’ve already linked to an example on how to do this, but since then I’ve been experimenting with the webspace provided by my University for me to use.
    I think the web server is Apache, but I only have access to my own directory, so after reading http://www.flashcentral.com/Tech/Server/Apache.htm I decided to give the simple .htaccess file a try.

    This is what I did:
    – created an empty file in my ~/web/ folder (where the files being served are)
    – opened the file and put this single line:
    AddType application/.prs.pant.su-dlc dlc
    – renamed the file to .htaccess

    Before doing this, the .dlc were just treated as plain text (Firefox displayed them raw).
    After this, Firefox asked me “This is a DLC file, what do you want to do?” and I could choose a default action for it and make it permanent.

    Also, the change applied to all .dlc files in that directory AND in all subdirectories as well.

    Comment by atanok — 2009/06/08 @ 11:00

  3. lies:
    I actually did much more than just that.

    I exaustively tested changing the .htaccess file while changing the test files’ names and locations to find out how it worked, exactly.

    I learned the following:
    – All changes to the .htaccess file have immediate effect.
    – Firefox ignores the mime type’s name and names the newly found filetype whatever the extension is, but in ALL CAPS. (loltest.dlc => DLC)
    – Even if you change the extensions associated to the mime, or add more, Firefox will still call them all whatever it thought it should name it the first time.
    (I should have named it loltest.loldongs and added loldongs to the .htaccess)
    – I should try testing other browsers, too… brb testing Opera, elinks and Konqueror…

    …also, under preferences in Firefox you can change the default behavior back to anything you want, special attention going to “Ask”.

    Comment by atanok — 2009/06/08 @ 11:15

  4. Update:
    Turns out all 4 browsers behave greatly with my application/.prs-perv type!
    Which I associated to files with .hent .hnt and .lol extensions… because I could.

    I was trying to open a .lol file in my webspace, and ironically, Firefox was the only one to behave facepalmworthly and call it a LOL file, instead of an application/.prs-perv file, LIKE IT SHOULD.

    On the other hand, elinks revealed something quite interesting to me.
    I tried opening http://pant.su/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/anthology_-_youjoku_no_utage.dlc, and clicked the “Show header” button…
    What it showed, was revealing:

    Server: Microsoft-IIS/6.0
    X-Powered-By: ASP.NET

    FFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUU-

    The thing is: pant.su is running FUCKING WORDPRESS
    why on hell would someone use IIS?

    Well, all I can do right now is link to this shitty place: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;326965

    Comment by atanok — 2009/06/08 @ 11:49

  5. Ok, that’s about it for now.

    See you in ~32 hours.

    Edit: here’ s a picture showing the 4 browsers I tested handling a dlc from pant.su.

    Clockwise, from the top-left:
    – Opera decided that the mime type was probably a fuckup and, while right, did a fuckup by itself by guessing it as plain text.
    – Firefox thinks “not this shit again” and says it’s a “BIN” file, not giving an option to “open with” because the type is (wrongly) used for fucking everything.
    – Elinks running on gnome-terminal, showing the header sent for the dlc file. Oh… OH GOD WHAT
    – Konqueror is being a pretty cool guy by being the perfect example of a good behavior: don’t guess, don’t discriminate. Also true for elinks.

    Edit2: With the edit above I realized WordPress didn’t allow images on comments… so Ctrl+C, Ctrl+V and it’s now also on the post. Yay!

    Comment by atanok — 2009/06/08 @ 12:19

  6. dis post is boring where’s all the tits AN ass heh

    Comment by bbot — 2009/06/08 @ 13:11

  7. FATS A NOK

    GET IN #CAKE

    Comment by bbot — 2009/06/19 @ 20:10

  8. There’s certainly a great deal to find out about this issue.
    I love all the points you’ve made.

    Comment by 3d визуализация интерьера — 2014/09/20 @ 07:05


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

